NewBiz Nuze

Helping You Make the Best Decisions

New Kid On the Block

I’m not a Guru by any means. I don’t pretend to be an expert on everything, but I do have empathy for people who are just starting out and don’t have a clue about how to get started online. I was there once and I remember it very well.

I wasn’t that young when I got online for the first time. I was in my late thirties and my kids had been using computers at school for years. I had always been afraid of them, thinking I might press the wrong button and get into trouble somehow. My first experience was at the public library, and it took my kids several weeks to pursuade me to go and try it out. They showed me how to use search engines to find what I was looking for. I didn’t even have an email account and even signing up for hotmail wasn’t easy for me.
I had problems using the mouse. It felt strange and didn’t want to move the way I wanted it to.
And even after I had an email account, I had no one to send an email to.

Still, I wanted my own internet access. So I set out to find a computer I could afford. They were way too expensive for our budget, so I got a web enabled game system called Dreamcast, and
the “keyboard” was a remote control. It was really hard to do much of anything with it. And there was no hard drive so I couldn’t visit all the pages I wanted to and couldn’t download anything. I still didn’t know anyone and when I got spam I would try to email them back and it would just bounce. That intrigued me. Sometimes when I sent an email to these people I would get signed up for newsletters and didn’t know how it happened. One day I read an email from one of the newsletters and it was about autoresponders. Now that was an interesting concept. It said that you could start a list of contacts by using autoresponders. So I had to get one. I knew that soon I would have a lot of people to talk to.

I signed up for an autoresponder account and looked and looked for the list of people that they said I would get with it. It was no where to be found. I thought that was false advertising. They said I would have a list that wouldn’t stop growing. I was really mad. So here’s where I found out the first rule of internet marketing. You have to have a list to build a list. Hmm…catch 22.

So I started looking for sites that had contact us links. Surely if I contacted them they would help me. That’s about the time I found the Mint Marketing Team. They helped me with no expectations of anything in return and gave me the advice I needed, plus gave me a way to start earning online for the first time.

I’m not going to say it’s been an easy ride since then. I’ve had problems and have lost money and spent a lot of time “chasing after rainbows”. But I’m still online and it’s been 15 years since the day I got on the computer at the library.

I’m going to show you a few tips that might help you to do better than I did when I first started and you can always come to me if you need help.

Contact me any time.
Rebecca Beasley
heartuvgold@gmail.com
MSN Messenger id rbeas41@hotmail.com
Add me to your buddy list

November 25, 2006 - Posted by | 1

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

