NewBiz Nuze

Helping You Make the Best Decisions

Social Bookmarking and Network Tools

Just like any other job you do, you need to have the right tools
for social bookmarking and networking.
(1) You need a good tabbed browser
so you can keep all your social networking sites in one place.
I prefer to use Firefox because it helps me to keep everything
in my bookmarks toolbar where I can see at a glance where all
my social bookmarks are. It also helps to keep my logins safe
and loads them for me so I don’t have to remember them or look
them up in my files.

Make sure you read the setup tips when you download Firefox so
you can see how easy it is to use. Whatever you save in your
bookmarks can be given a special folder and you can open one
site at a time or you can open them all at once and just click
from tab to tab to “do your thing”.

The next tool I use is the Google Toolbar.
It works really well right along with Firefox to do your google searches, plus
it comes with other tools that will help you to add your bookmarks and enables
you to see your most recent searches so you don’t have to go into your history
to find them. It also helps you to login to your Gmail account and has a lot
of neat buttons you can add, and the best thing of all is it’s absolutely
free.

I’ve found a lot of new social networking/bookmarking sites through using this
toolbar in Firefox and it works in other browsers just as well.

Another thing you need if you want to share your bookmarks with thousands of
people all over the world, is a del.icio.us account. This is just one of the
many bookmarking sites there are, and I really like being able to add my bookmarks
as I go and then check in a few days and find out how many people are hooked
up with me through their bookmarks. It helps you to get your sites indexed
faster too. You’ll also find a button for Deli.icio.us in the Google Toolbar.

Most of these things are already incorporated into Firefox, so if you just
get the Firefox browser and click on tools/addons you’ll find them already
there to add to your browser.

I found one really neat one that I’m also using to get my programs published
and that’s the StumbleUpon button. They send you to pages according to your
interests and you can click a thumbs up or down to vote on the ones you like
or dislike and they’ll adjust it accordingly.

I’ll add more sites as I go along, but for now this should be enough to get
you started. The main thing is to make friends and have fun, and everything
else will come along. You’ll be surprised at how many people are already
using these sites. And you’ll be able to add new and exciting sites to your
internet profiles.

Enjoy:)
Rebecca Beasley

April 18, 2007 - Posted by | community, friends, fun things to do, social bookmarking, social networks

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

